Brazeau County

Donna Wiltse, Councillor

City of Beaumont

Dan McIsaac, Library Board Member

City of Leduc

Carla Frybort, Library Director

City of Spruce Grove

Wayne Rothe, Community Member

YRL Board Vice Chair

City of Wetaskiwin

Bill Elliot, Councillor

County of Barrhead No. 11 

Ron Kleinfeldt, Councillor

County of Wetaskiwin No. 10

Kathy Rooyakkers, Councillor

Lac Ste. Anne County 

Carol Ohler, Library Board Member

Leduc County

Dana McFaull, Library Board Member

Municipality of Jasper

Wendy Hall, Councillor

Northern Gateway School Division

Barb Maddigan, Board Chair

Parkland County

Sally Kucher-Johnson, Councillor

Pembina Hills School Division

Maureen Schnirer, Board Trustee

Summer Village of Birch Cove

Representative not appointed

Summer Village of Castle Island

Representative not appointed

Summer Village of Crystal Springs

Margaret Gagnon, Councillor

Summer Village of Grandview

Michael Klause, Councillor

Summer Village of Kapasiwin

John McIvor, Deputy Mayor

Summer Village of Lakeview

Representative not appointed

Summer Village of Ma-Me-O Beach

Christine Holmes, Mayor

Summer Village of Nakamun Park

Keith Pederson, Councillor

Summer Village of Norris Beach

Representative not appointed

Summer Village of Poplar Bay 

Fraser Hubbard, Mayor

Summer Village of Ross Haven

Representative not appointed

Summer Village of Sandy Beach

Michael Harney, Deputy Mayor

Summer Village of Seba Beach

Allan Aubry, Councillor

Summer Village of Silver Beach 

Representative not appointed

Summer Village of Silver Sands

Liz Turnbull, Deputy Mayor

Summer Village of South View

Sandi Benford, Mayor

Summer Village of Sunrise Beach 

Representative not appointed

Summer Village of Sunset Point

Kathy Dion, Community Member

Summer Village of Val Quentin 

Kathy Dion, Mayor

Summer Village of West Cove

Representative not appointed

Summer Village of Yellowstone

Brian Brady, Deputy Mayor

Town of Barrhead

Rod Klumph, Councillor

Town of Calmar

Krista Gardner, Councillor

Town of Devon

Ben Gronberg, Councillor

Town of Drayton Valley 

Rick Evans, Councillor

Town of Edson

Peter Taylor, Councillor

Town of Hinton

Hendrik (Hank) Smit, Library Board Chair

YRL Board Chair,

Town of Mayerthorpe 

Sandy Morton, Councillor

Town of Millet

Doug Peel, Mayor

Town of Onoway

Representative not appointed

Town of Stony Plain 

Eric Meyer, Councillor

Town of Swan Hills

Jeff Goebel, Councillor

Town of Thorsby

Donna Tona, Chief Administrative Officer

Town of Westlock 

Abby Keyes, Councillor

Town of Whitecourt

Serena Lapointe, Councillor

Village of Alberta Beach

Tara Elwood, Mayor

Village of Breton 

Shay Sheaves, Deputy Mayor

Village of Clyde 

Donna Moore, Councillor

Village of Spring Lake

Jason Shewchuk, Mayor

Village of Warburg

Dwayne Mayr, Mayor

Westlock County

Christine Wiese, Councillor

Wetaskiwin School Division

Kathryn Weremey, Board Trustee

Woodlands County

Dave Kusch, Councillor

Yellowhead County 

Penny Lowe, Councillor

The provincial legislation sets out the governance structure for public library service. It provides for the establishment of municipal and community library boards at the local level and system boards at the regional level. These autonomous boards cooperate through provincial networks and resource sharing agreements to give access to public library resources to all Albertans.

The Libraries Act defines the roles of the partners in library development and sets out parameters for public library structure. The Act recognizes the municipality as the foundation for public library service and the library boards as the major building blocks. The Act also allows for cooperation between municipalities and school authorities to provide equitable and enhanced service through library systems in large regional areas.

For more information, see the Alberta Municipal Affairs Public Library Services Branch website.

Note: Approved but undergoing formatting revisions.